top of page

Worthwhile

"Everyone has the same amount of hours in the day as Beyonce." Ok, I know, sort of shallow, but it's true. How does it seem like some days we get so much more accomplished than others? What do we do with that extra time on the days when stuff just doesn't get done?! These are some questions I've been asking myself lately as I've been working on balance in my life. The thing is, no one knows where that time goes unless they track it. I've been reading "The Compound Effect," and it's been eye-opening just much we THINK we know about ourselves but don't. When it comes down to it, we all think the best of ourselves. Taking the time to write down and track what we actually get done is a bit of a kick-in-the-rear. I've taken on the challenge to track just ONE thing in my life this week: how much music practice I actually get done. And where is my notebook as of today? With one entry on Monday. That's not great, but at least I'm being honest with myself. I have to practice smart. As a mom, I don't have a lot of extra time to spend on myself, but only once a week is just not enough. So, I'm making the changes I need to. But did you see how that worked? In my head, I think about my music a lot, I even sing snippets here and there of passages that are difficult for me, but actually sitting down with the intent to practice is what I'm working on. One day is an improvement from last week, though. And already, I can tell a difference. Small changes. That's all any of us can really control. Stopping and asking ourselves in the moment, is this going to push me forward in my goal or keep me where I am? Be brave. Go and DO those things that make you a little uncomfortable. Track what you are doing and be HONEST with yourself, that's how you are going to improve!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page